I Will Wait

I have been a music fanatic for a long time. I grew up in a house with the radio always on. I heard everything from Sinatra to Murray The K screaming about The Beatles coming to America. Vivid memories of my mother laughing at the lyrics of Bob Dylan’s Positively 4th St. (look them up). I went along with the crowd in high school, went through a brief jazz phase in college, and eventually developed my own tastes as the years went by.

I veered away from the mainstream as much as possible. In recent years, it has been a struggle to attach to new bands. I like them for 5 minutes and find myself going back to listening to the deep cuts on those Kinks albums or the bands of the late 70’s punk and new wave explosion. I have a home in those albums. I figured the days of music that captivates me is over. However, being hopeful I would always say “I will wait” for something to hit me and stick.

Finally, the wait seems to be over. Mumford & Sons has hit me right over the head. I enjoyed the first album but it dissipated like every other band. This new song, although familiar in an Eagles/Poco/Lindsey Buckingham’s Fleetwood Mac kind of way, has grabbed my attention. I decided to listen to the rest of the album (on Spotify) and it’s not a far stretch from the first album but it is quite good. I like it a lot. This band may stick. Check back with me in 10 minutes.

In the world of horrible pop music destroying the airwaves it’s nice to see a band like this come along with the right mix of everything that is great about listening to music. Of course, I became an instant fan when they did a duet with Ray Davies of the Kinks last year.

Have a listen and become a fan, but don’t tell those Nikki Minaj fans. They are not allowed in this club.

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Will Wait

  1. dba says:

    music is best things on this world. With music we can express our feeling to every one. Music connect our heart to each other. Good to be a musician. N you also in trusted in music. Keep some patience … keep it up….

  2. dba12 says:

    Music is speechless.. It’s come from straight to heart……

Leave a Reply

