A Man’s World

This blog has been going on for a little over a month now so, enough with the cute little observations and personal gripes. It’s time to get to what this is really all about. My next project. A constant need for attention, coupled with a twisted sense of reality which has turned to obsession.

In 2013, I plan to produce and perform in my second one man show. Before you go thinking “what a narcissist”, just realize that if I am a narcissist, I don’t really care what you think.

I have spent the last year on my first one man show, “Welcome To Lawn Guyland.” It had its ups and downs but I was happy with it for the most part. My next endeavor is called “Suffocating In Suburbia” (no surprise there). I hope to take this production to a new level and bring it to a wider audience than the localized “Welcome To Lawn Guyland” which concentrated on life on Long Island.

In this day and age, we have far too many shows, that appeal to women. I have nothing against women. I love women. However, there is a segment of the population that is in need of exploitation. Men. Specifically middle-aged, suburban, married with kids, men. We exist. We need a voice. We are suffocating.

Has this been done? Of course it has. What hasn’t. Think about shows like “Everybody Loves Raymond” or “Home Improvement.” Big hit shows about men in the suburbs. The one thing these shows have in common is the portrayal of men as dumb ass nudniks that can’t do anything right. They deceive their wives and get their just desserts at the end in the form of ridicule. The audience applauds this emasculation of the male species and go home feeling better about themselves. Except for the men. We just suffocate.

Thus, that is the crux of my creation. To give a voice to that man cowering in the corner after losing another battle. Escaping to watch football, play golf, carouse with the other men folk and visit the jar on his wife’s nightstand that holds his testicles.

Oh….and it’s gonna be funny…. so stay tuned…

By the way, that sideways pic at the top? I, uh, meant to do that…..so there…

Daily Theme Song:

James Brown – This Is A  Man’s World : http://youtu.be/wd1-HM234DE

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

