A Higher Place

There seems to be a growing trend to tell people off, or call them out, as the kids are saying. It’s prevalent on cable political programs. Republicans pointing at Democrats who are pointing at Republicans. I try not to watch because it just makes me angry. Probably nobody does it better than Jon Stewart on The Daily Show. At least he is funny and clever.   The current election seems to be one big war of words. No lives are lost in this war, but a little piece of humanity dies as these battles rage on. It’s a mean society.

No wonder there is an increase in bullying. The 70’s may have been called the “me” generation, but now we have entered the “you” generation. The “you” I speak of is the person or group  we choose to blame for our inability to look at the man in the mirror and change. Now, before I start sounding like Michael Jackson (who, by the way, blamed his father for his horrible life), I would just like to say that back in my day (old man voice), we were the ones to blame. We had to take responsibility for our actions. Our parents didn’t coddle us and lie to us. They told us to stop complaining, brush our teeth, do our homework and go to bed.

Somehow, this generation needs to stop being victims and rise above the blame game. They need to get to a higher place. A place of responsibility and success by their own means and actions.

Oops. I’m back. Just lost power and had to rewrite this entry. Why? Because the utility company is run by a bunch of 1% corporate bloodsuckers who only care about themselves and their estates, cars and yachts that I don’t have but deserve because this is America…damn it.

Sorry I got so cranky. I think I will go brush my teeth and go to bed.

Daily Theme Song:

Tom Petty – A Higher Place http://youtu.be/Fpq3PbxA3sc

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Higher Place

  1. wordsaver says:

    Yeah, it is very nice to hear such thing from your mouth: even in America many don’t know yet what it means “doing” and not only preaching… and, sofistic sarckasm of Yours! .

  2. dba says:

    After this reading may be they know… Nice article.

Leave a Reply

