Nothing Is Easy

I am an accountant by day and a stand-up comedian by night. I used to call myself The World’s Funniest Accountant (yes, that’s me in the pic). It sounds like an oxymoron, which is half of what my wife calls me.

Let’s face it, accountants are not known for their sense of humor. I have worked with many accountants and found them far from funny.

People chuckle at the thought of me being a comedian and an accountant. I like to say “accounting is what I do, a comedian is what I am.”

Being funny has always come easy to me. A little over 20 years ago, on a dare, I stepped on stage at a local restaurant’s talent contest night and tried my hand at doing stand-up comedy. I got lucky the first time out. It was a rousing success. I not only succeeded in making people laugh, I took third place in the contest. My prize was a Bonnie Raitt cassette and a T-Shirt. Not so impressive, I know. But more importantly I discovered my true calling.

The 20 years have been a struggle to stay in the stand-up comedy game and move forward. I quit many times but always missed it. It’s an unfair and painful business, but I am addicted so there is no stopping anytime soon.

The thing I hear most from people is “you have a lot of courage to go up there in front of people.” Believe it or not, that part is easy. Remember back in school when we had those projects when we had to go in front of the class that every kid dreaded? I always wanted to go first. I know, weird.

I am still an accountant. However, I have finally embezzled enough money to become a full time comedian. It’s working out well. I have a following. I’m wanted in 12 states. (I‘m joking….only 9 states)

Daily Theme Song:

Jethro Tull – Nothing is Easy (from the album entitled Stand-up) http://youtu.be/HoSOuYNNXjU

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing Is Easy

  1. dba says:

    I also believe in nothing Nothing is easy…. To get some thing you have to hard works. N to laugh some one is not easy task.. Comedian doing lot of hard work to laugh some one. In trusting Article.

Leave a Reply

