The Inner Light

When I hit the big 50 I started thinking about exercise. I’ve never been a big fan of scheduling time each day to exercise.

I joined a gym once, years ago, went a few times but found it smelly and uncomfortable. I bought a treadmill at a yard sale down the block. I actually pushed it to my house, about 500 feet away. That was the last time I used it.

I took a Yoga class at the local elementary school. Went twice, pulled a stomach muscle and spent the next 6 weeks skipping class and going to the library across the street.

I even tried meditation. Searching for that Inner Light I always hear about. I would play Enya music and just try to relax. I fell asleep. Not sure if that counts as meditating.

Apparently you need a mantra. Something to blank your mind and keep you focused. What would a middle-aged man’s mantra be? Ommmm do not drive or operate heavy machinery ommmmmm if you had heart failure or experience diarrhea, constipation, swollen feet, burning during urination, ommmm decreased sexual activity, suicidal thoughts, feelings of hopelessness, ohmmmmm  muscle aches, nausea, consult your doctor Om Mani Padme Hum (that’s the name of my doctor.)

Daily Theme Song:
George Harrison – The Inner Light http://youtu.be/7oSuzEqHOcE
About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Inner Light

  1. marlhtv says:

    Perhaps the motion of living is exercise enough for you? The world is filled with opportunities to exercise. Walk more to places when you can. Choose the stairs over an elevator. Your body needs the extra push so it believes it must improve its stability in life. Though a gym is sometimes a last resort for a person who may not be ready to dedicate a good hour there. Start off small, and you’ll naturally progress to a more organized routine.

  2. dba says:

    people have to think about big. N start from small to reach there destiny. Like hard work to get success. Believe in your self Patience n trust your self.

Leave a Reply

