Once in A Lifetime

They say we only live once. This is it. One shot. That’s a lot of pressure to do everything right. How much thought should we really put into this concept? Should we spend more time thinking about our actions, and the consequences that follow? The more time we think about everything we do, the more time we waste. The more time we waste, the more time we lose. The more time we lose, the closer we get to the end. Then we look back and say “what if I did something else instead?” It’s enough to drive us out of our minds and we certainly don’t have time for that. Some people don’t make decisions and leave it up to God, Allah, Buddah, Mother Earth, Ashanti, or a million other deities in the pantheon.

However, we all agree that when we are on our death-bed we don’t want to look back with regret. As I get older, I realize that you have to just let some things happen the way they happen. The more I try to control the universe, the more things don’t go my way. Then I get anxious over the result.

It’s true, we have one life, that we remember, but I would rather live it than worry about a better way to live it.

I find that as I get older and look back at how my life has gone so far, I am satisfied for the most part. Sure, things happened that I wish didn’t, but I learned something from those times as well as the good times. And everything I have ever done has led me to where I am now. The present.

The present is a good place to be. The present happens only once in a lifetime, so make the most of it.

Daily Theme Song:

Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime http://youtu.be/I1wg1DNHbNU

About Stevie GB

57 year old stand up comedian from Long Island. My approach to comedy is telling the truth about being married, middle aged and living in the suburbs. I enjoy making people laugh without making them feel uncomfortable. My act is clean and clever. Featured in Newsday and on News12. Winner of the Huntington Arts Council Laff-off, 2006. 3rd place winner of LI Press Best of LI 2011, A regular on The Long Island Comedy Festival for 9 consecutive years. Opened for Dennis Miller, Louie Anderson, Kevin Pollak, Bobby Collins, Bob Nelson, Uncle Floyd, Kevin Meaney, and many more.
This entry was posted in Blogs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Once in A Lifetime

  1. wordsaver says:

    Thank God, I’ve done what I ever wanted

  2. dba12 says:

    It’s so good…..

  3. Agree, agree, agree! And I’d never leave my life up to Lil Wayne. I think I’d really regret stuff then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

